Shifts in the Seasons and Keeping Your Immune System on Track!!!!

A shift in seasons always calls for the immune system to go on high-alert as your body adjusts to the new climate. Ancient Ayurvedic traditions call for a cleanse not only during the Spring time, but also during the Fall! I wanted to share with you a few simple tips that I use to boost my immune system during this time of year:

detox smoothie

1. By regulating my sleep cycle (aka Circadian Rhythm) while everything around me is changing, my body knows what to expect in at least one area of my life. Going to bed and waking around the same time every day, I find I have more energy and I’m also happier!

benefits-of-good-night-sleep

2. Add a slice of ginger, lemon and a bit of raw, organic (ideally local) honey to your herbal tea in the morning. This isn’t just a cold and flu remedy, it’s a medicinal and immune boosting recipe that you can use to prevent yourself from falling victim of the cold your co-worker or child brought into your environment.

3. Because it’s getting cold out where we live, we’re cooking a lot more. I use herbs that support a healthy digestive tract and boost immune system in as many meals as possible. Here are my favorites: Ginger, Garlic, Cinnamon and Turmeric. Surprisingly, these all actually taste delicious together when you sauté or steam dark leafy greens and toss them with coconut oil. Check out here on this image 20 different uses for Coconut Oil and I have much more where that came from…….

20 amazing uses of Coconut oil

4. Reducing Stress. A pretty obvious reason why most of us get run down or feel low energy and in this day and age, stress is becoming a default emotion for many of us. With all of our responsibilities, priorities and goals to accomplish, life can get overwhelming. I invite you to do whatever it takes to clear out even 5 minutes of stress from your day, to do something that nourishes your mind, body and spirit. I like to do yoga in our living room, close my eyes and do some slow, rhythmic breathing, or go for a walk outside to look at the fall trees.  

5. Have a hot, detoxifying bath at least once per week.Here’s a basic detox bath recipe for you:

Fill your tub with hot water
Add 1-2 cups of Epsom Salts and/or
Add 1-2 cups of Baking Soda
Sit in the bath for at least 20 minutes, 30 or 40 is even better if you can to let your body absorb the minerals and magnesium from the salts.

This bath recipe will aid in detoxifying the body, particularly drawing out anything in excess that may be lingering, improving digestion and reducing inflammation of muscles and joints.

Leave a Reply

